The Miwatj Health Board of Directors

Miwatj Board

  • The Board of Miwatj Health meets 4 times a year. Their duties include overseeing the activities and affairs of Miwatj Health including strategy, planning and budgets.

Board Members

John MorganJohn Morgan – Chairperson – Milingimbi (Barra Ward)
John is a Brinkin man from the Upper Daly Region who has lived in Milingimbi for the past 19 years, and has worked in a variety of roles in the community, to do with legal aid, education, youth and men’s issues, sport and community services. He has undertaken studies and training in such areas as business governance, health promotion, community services and suicide intervention. John’s skills, leadership ability and dedication combine to make him a strong and effective Chairperson for Miwatj Health.
Dennis Wukun Wanambi- Deputy Chairperson – Yirrkala (Bulunu Ward)
Wukun plays an imperative role in his family and as a community member. Wukun works at the Mulka Projects in the Buku Larrnggay Arts Centre and has established a high profile career as an artist heavily involved in major communal projects including the Sydney Opera House commission, the opening of the National Museum of Australia and the local Yolngu films, Lonely Boy Richard, The Pilot’s Funeral and Dhakiyarr Versus the King to name a few.

Bulunu Ward:

Timmy BurarrwangaTimmy Burarrwanga – Yirrkala / Bawaka
Timmy is a prominent community member and holds many positions including Director of Lirrwi Yolngu Tourism Aboriginal Corporation, Director of Gumatj Corporation, and Managing Director of Bawaka Cultural Experiences Pty Ltd.
Djapirri MunuggirritjDjapirri Mununggirritj – Yirrkala
Djapirri is a senior community member, GEC at Yirrkala and sits on the Board of Reconciliation Australia
MARIKADjuwalpi Marika – Yirrkala
Djuwalpi is a senior member of the Rirratjingu clan, has lengthy experience in local government and is a prominent community leader. He is the Chairperson of the Yambirrpa Schools Council and involved with Bunuwal Industrial Pty Ltd.

Barra Ward:


Ross Mandi Wunungmurra – Galiwin’ku
Ross is a prominent community member and a worker in the Night Patrol.
YangarrinyDavid Yangarriny Munyarryun – Galiwin’ku
David is a prominent community member and a Cultural Mentor of Marthakal Homelands Association.
Gordon-Lanyipi-RanymalpuyGordon Lanyipi Ranymalpuy – Milingimbi
Gordon was a Health Worker at Milingimbi Health Centre, committed to the Men’s Health programmes. Gordon is a respected community member.
20160701_120559Yirrininba Serena Wunungmurra – Milingimbi
Serena Wunungmurra is new young and talented board member at Miwatj Health. Serena works at the Milingimbi School and community member.

Mamarika Ward:

Tony WurramarrbaTony Wurramarrba – Angurugu
Tony is a respected community member, a traditional landowner and Chairperson of the Anindilyakwa Land Council.
Thomas AmagulaThomas Amagula – Angurugu
Thomas Amagula is an advocate for the people of his community, Groote Eylandt and was responsible for Cultural Enterprises with the Anindilyakwa Land Council. Thomas now works with the executive team at Dhimurru AboriginalCorporation.

Rhonda SimonRhonda Simon – Numbulwar

Rhonda is a dedicated Aboriginal Health Practitioner and a prominent community member of Numbulwar.

Independent non-voting Members

Bernie YatesBernie Yates
Bernie has a distinguished public service career and is a former Deputy Secretary of the Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs.

PMPeter McQuoid
Peter is the principal of a management consulting practice specialising in risk management, internal control and business performance for the public sector. He has been assisting Commonwealth Government entities and Indigenous corporations throughout Australia for the past 16 years in areas of governance and performance.

↑ Top of Page